Charles Bernstein


Charles Bernstein has published five collections of essays — Pitch of Poetry (Chicago, 2016), Attack of the Difficult Poems: Essays and Inventions (Chicago, 2011), My Way: Speeches and Poems (Chicago, 1999), A Poetics (Harvard, 1992), and Content’s Dream: Essays 1975–1984 (Sun & Moon, 1985; reprinted by Northwestern, 2001). He is the author of over twenty collections of poetry, including Recalculating (Chicago, 2014), All the Whiskey in Heaven: Selected Poems (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 2010), Girly Man (Chicago, 2006), With Strings (Chicago, 2001), Republics of Reality: 1975–1995 (Sun & Moon, 2000), Dark City (Sun & Moon, 1994), The Sophist (Sun & Moon, 1987; reprinted by Salt Publishing, 2004), Islets/Irritations (Jordan Davies, 1983; reprinted by Roof Books, 1992), and Controlling Interests (Roof, 1980). He is the editor of Close Listening: Poetry and the Performed Word (Oxford, 1999), 99 Poets/1999: An International Poetics Symposium (Duke, 1998), and The Politics of Poetic Form: Poetry and Public Policy (Roof, 1990), and coeditor of L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E (1978–1981). Bernstein is executive editor of the Electronic Poetry Center and codirector of PennSound.

Courses Taught

ENGL111.301 Experimental Writing Seminar: Uncreative Writing

ENGL111.401: Experimental Writing

ENGL111.401 Experimental Writing: Experimental Poetry